Being saved can be a tricky situation. I thought it was so cut and dry, however I am learning otherwise and it concerns me. I have come In contact with a few
people over the last several weeks that have assumed they were saved because at some point in their life they asked Jesus into their heart. However, Come to
find out, on further inspection they never really were saved. Ya know, if I have heard it once, I have heard it a million times, half of the church body will go to hell. Tough pill to swallow.. I just thought it was because there are a lot of judgemental people and hypocrites in the church body…I had no clue that your salvation could have never been given depending on the condition of your heart at the time of asking. Do you have a heart condition? Do you need a heart transplant? What I mean about this, is when you asked Jesus into your life did you REALLY mean it? And I want you to take a day or two and really mull over this one. It’s a matter of heaven or hell. It’s your afterlife we are discussing.

See, last week I wrote about the 9 gifts and fruits of the spirit, and if you didn’t read that article – I would advise you to go back on it. However, the point is, when you “get saved” you receive those gifts. Who doesn’t want a gift? Right?! Do you have the joy of the Lord in your heart? Do you have patience? If you are still restless within yourself, maybe you need to look at the inside rather than the outside. It was put heavy on my heart to write about this today. So many people assume they have been saved when in fact – they are not. When they asked for salvation- they never received. And how can that be you ask? Well, a heart condition. Maybe you came with a hardened heart. Maybe you came for selfish reasons. Maybe you were putting on a show. Maybe you were going through the motions in your religion. Maybe you have little or no faith….. I don’t know all those answers. I don’t even pretend to. All I am doing, is offering the question “do you know?”

Matthew 7 : 21 “Not everyone who says to me, ‘Lord, Lord,’ will enter the kingdom of heaven, but only the one who does the will of my Father who is in heaven. 22 Many will say to me on that day, ‘Lord, Lord, did we not prophesy in your name and in your name drive out demons and in your name perform many miracles?’ 23 Then I will tell them plainly, ‘I never knew you. Away from me, you evildoers!’

If a man says he has repented, but there is no evidence of such within his daily actions (if he has failed to bring forth fruit in keeping with his professed repentance), we may legitimately challenge the validity of his claim. The same is true of our faith. If it is visible, it is viable.

God showed us grace; we must show Him faith!

When asked, Teacher, what shall I do to inherit eternal life?” [Luke 10:25], Jesus answered, “What is written in the Law? How does it read to you?” [vs. 26]. The lawyer responded, “You shall love the Lord your God with all your heart, and with all your soul, and with all your strength, and with all your mind; and your neighbor as yourself” [vs. 27]. Jesus then declared, “You have answered correctly; do this, and you will live” [vs. 28]. Jesus Christ declared love of God and love of one’s fellow man to be the foremost commandments of God; indeed, He stated, “On these two commandments depend the whole Law and the Prophets” [Matt. 22:40]. The apostle Paul declared that ALL other law was summed up and fulfilled in these two commandments [Rom. 13:8-10]. He also declared that no matter how many good works one might do, if they weren’t motivated by love, they would profit you nothing [1 Cor. 13:1-3]. Which brings us right back to his statement to the Galatian brethren: The only thing that counts is FAITH expressing itself through LOVE” [Gal. 5:6]. There is your salvation issue.

DO YOU REALLY KNOW?

If there is any question in your mind if you would die to today and you would or would not go to heaven, maybe you need to prepare your heart and have faith.

Deal with your heart condition.

And ask again.

Just to be sure.

(A little side note for you to ponder, it’s also not just in the asking. It’s a lifestyle change. Have you laid your selfish ways down to follow Gods lead in your life? That is where the true spring of life begins. If you don’t know your purpose- draw close and ask. It is there for the taking.)

Much Love,

Cherish