As I was in church this morning God spoke to me. His words came to me in the middle of crowded worship center during a less than inspirational message. Funny how God chooses to speak.

We have all by now heard the story of Jesus. We know he died for our sins and was nailed to the cross. Though that is not to be taken lightly, I want to shed a little more light on the cross itself. Not just the one that Jesus died on. The one each of us carry daily throughout our lives.

But he said to me, “My grace is sufficient for you, for my power is made perfect in weakness.” Therefore I will boast all the more gladly about my weaknesses, so that Christ’s power may rest on me. 2 Corinthians 12:9

20111204-155954.jpg

Everyday people like you and I are carrying crosses. Big, heavy, thick, weathered, monstrous crosses. It occurred to me that some people just don’t “get it.” I don’t mean to be rude here – that is never my intention, all I am trying to say Is that when God himself gave Jesus to the world to die on that cross.. That was it! Complete Remission, Done! All sins were forgiven! Believe it!

For mine iniquities are gone over mine head: as an heavy burden they are too heavy for me. (Psalm 38:4 KJV)

There is no sense in carrying those heavy burdens on your back with your own cross. I have also realized that some people think they deserve that cross of misery or guilt. You don’t!!! Also that they do not deserve the forgiveness that was freely given to them. Why? Why not?!!! If you don’t believe Jesus’ blood was enough to cover your sin – you are trying to cover it under your own strength. So what is that you want to hold onto? A free grace filled gift of eternal life or a life of cross bearing under your own strength. Carrying your own cross becomes a more challenging prospect the longer you live, sin, broken relationships, deceit and lies get nailed to your own cross weighing it down to the point you cannot take one more step. Save yourself a life of frustration and drop the cross and let Jesus carry it now.

Lay down that stinking cross in your life! It’s heavy. It’s wasted time and energy dragging it behind you. Throw that thing on the ground and let God carry it! Walk away! After you hand that big thing over, relax. Pick up your posture and trod along your merry way. God intended your life to be that way. You should recognize his use in your life and walk with him unburdened. Do you need rest?

Come unto me, all ye that labour and are heavy laden, and I will give you rest. (Matthew 11:28 KJV)

whatever your cross
Whatever your pain
there will always be sunshine,
after the rain ….

Perhaps you may stumble,
perhaps even fall,
But God’s always ready,
To answer your call …

He knows every heartache,
sees every tear,
A word from His lips,
can calm every fear …

Your sorrows may linger,
throughout the night,
But suddenly vanish,
dawn’s early light .

The Savior is waiting,
somewhere above,
To give you His grace,
and send you His love ..

Whatever your cross,
whatever your pain,
God always sends rainbows ….
after the rain …