You look around everywhere these days and see crosses hanging around peoples’ necks. You look on the back of minivans and see the christian fish signs. “Jesus Rocks” t-shirts strolling through the malls. You can look everywhere and see the religion. But where do you look and see the relationship side that God himself has required? I’m stuck in a pondering mode…..

When did Jesus become a money-making aftermarket thought process? I just don’t get it. I don’t think the people that are caught up in “IT” do either! Darlin’, those cross ear-rings sure do look nice, but they aren’t getting you any closer to heaven than the next girl. What are we doing these days!? I am stuck in between the people wearing the outer support for Jesus, and the ones wearing outer support for the Yankees. But my question is: who is actually doing anything more than merely wearing the colors? Just pondering…..

Jesus is not an accessory that we put on before we go to church or when we go out for our day. Jesus should be more like an undergarment that you always wear. One that you HAVE to wear to go out. It should be the most prized possession and the closest thing to who you are. I am not knocking that cross necklace, or Jesus clothing (I own them also)….I just want everyone to see what I see. You don’t just take Jesus off at night and place him in the jewelry box, or the dirty clothes bin. To some, that is all it is. Christianity that is taken off and put on at will. Christianity is more like a birthmark that can’t be removed. Like the mark of your renewed birth. You can try to cover up a birthmark but it is always there. It shows up, and you can’t hide it.

You can wear a cross necklace everyday, yet only go to church on Christmas and Easter. (Chreaster Christians as I heard a pastor call them). It’s not about that! I realize that it is much easier to put on a piece of christian jewelry than to stretch your faith and go the real work of the kingdom. You can keep the t-shirts, hats, necklaces and such, but I think you should also let that light within shine through. In the same way, let your light shine before others, that they may see your good deeds and glorify your Father in heaven. (NIV) Matthew 5:16

Again, just pondering….