After spending most of my day fretting about in my prayer closet I came to an unexpected and unintended conclusion. The conclusion was:

I’m not going to worry about it

In Philippians 4:6, we are commanded, “Do not be anxious [do not worry] about anything, but in everything, by prayer and petition, with thanksgiving, present your requests to God.” In this Scripture, we learn that we should bring all of our needs and concerns to God in prayer rather than worry about them. Jesus encourages us to avoid worrying about our physical needs like clothing and food. Jesus assures us that our heavenly Father will take care of all our needs (Matthew 6:25-34). Therefore, we have no need to worry about anything. In 1 Peter 5:7, we are instructed to “cast all your anxiety on him because he cares for you.” God does not want us to carry around the weight of problems and burdens. In this verse, God is telling us to give Him all of our worries and concerns. Why does God want to take on our problems? The Bible says it is because He cares for us. God is concerned about everything that happens to us. No worry is too big or too small for His attention. When we give God our problems, He promises to give us the peace which transcends all understanding (Philippians 4:7). Jesus promised, “Come to me, all you who are weary and burdened, and I will give you rest. Take my yoke upon you and learn from me, for I am gentle and humble in heart, and you will find rest for your souls. For my yoke is easy and my burden is light” (Matthew 11:28-30).

All the weeks of fretting and worrying over circumstances out of my control have somehow come down to a simple repetitive song verse of “don’t worry…. be happy”. I have rarely ever stepped out of my prayer closet in song. I mostly come outside the door with tears soaking my collar and more questions than answers. Instead, today I found myself humming “don’t worry…. be happy” on my way out to the kitchen. How does one go from being so unsettled that they forcibly lock themselves in their prayer closet – to immediately walking out humming and feeling alright? Ahh, there are simply just things about my spiritual journey with God I may never truly understand. Truth is, I don’t care to understand. When I know that God has wrapped his arms around me and has the situation handled – I feel I am quite foolish to worry. It’s hard sometimes to see through the situations when they seem layed on so thick. God is bigger than my biggest problem. God knows more than the world around me. I answer to God above and everyone else can fit in somewhere else in line. I don’t have to be liked, I don’t have to be popular, I don’t even have to have worldly things. I just want to know that God is happy with me. That as many bad choices I’ve made, he will make them right. My heart is in the right place. So if he is searching my heart, I have no worries tonight. I feel compelled to worry about things that I cannot change. Maybe that comes from a worry-wort mother. If I could peel the burden off my shoulders I would in a heartbeat. Truth is, I have to rely on God to take it away. I believe today he did. So, as God did for me, I will do for you. Take a look at the lyrics below and DONT WORRY – BE HAPPY.

Amen.

Here is a little song I wrote
You might want to sing itnote for note
Don’t worry be happy
In every life we have some trouble
When you worry you make it double
Don’t worry, be happy……

Ain’t got no place to lay your head
Somebody came and took your bed
Don’t worry, be happy
The land lord say your rent is late
He mayhave to litigate
Don’t worry, be happy
Lood at me I am happy
Don’tworry, be happy
Here I give you my phone number
When you worry call me
I make you happy
Don’t worry, be happy
Ain’t got no cash, ain’t gotno style
Ain’t got not girl to make you smile
But don’t worry be happy
Cause when you worry
Your face will frown
And that will bringeverybody down
So don’t worry, be happy (now)…..

There is thislittle song I wrote
I hope you learn it note for note
Like good littlechildren
Don’t worry, be happy
Listen to what I say
In your lifeexpect some trouble
But when you worry
You make it double
Don’tworry, be happy……
Don’t worry don’t do it, be happy
Put a smile onyour face
Don’t bring everybody down like this
Don’t worry, it will soonpast
Whatever it is
Don’t worry, be happy

source: http://www.lyricsondemand.com/