I used to look up to people that had a lot. When I say “a lot” I mean money and things – stuff – as you call it. I used to want to be like them and have what they have. Completely Typical, right? but my oh my..I see the error of my ways now. I want to be more like the people that give it away. Those people that place no value on worldy and monetary things. Because those people who are rich in the worlds eyes and have lots of money and things – If you strip them of their money and things…they have nothing. A lot of them are shallow minded and feel they have nothing without things. They don’t know the joy of the lord. the people I have come in contact with lately have the joy of the lord. You could strip them down to nothing and they will still have spirit and hope and joy and peace and all those things that money cannot buy. the old term: money cannot buy happiness is very true.
I’ve met a lot of people who have tried to buy happiness. All they ended up with was more stuff that wouldn’t fit in their oversized garages. Happiness comes from within. You can walk in any book store around the globe and see “how to be happy” books on the self help isles. There is no way to will yourself to happiness. It is not a self-guided tour.
Joy and happiness can be stemmed from your lacking of. hmm… silly almost. Yet it is one of the most promising principles I have come to understand. I was married to a man that placed all his time and effort on keeping, aquiring, and chasing THINGS. Well, we all know where that story ends. Noticed I said “was” married. It’s a hopeless effort to have all the things you want if your heart is not right. I see people walking around the stores this holiday season so depressed as they are shopping. Depressed and Shopping are two things I would never place together. Yet it seems we are caught in the web of habitual gift giving and effortless appreciation. Joyful givers are what is needed. Happy people. Maybe we need to take a step back and re-evaluate.
I know I sure have re-evaluated a lot this year. My priority latter was rickety and out of order. Since I have discovered what is important, I feel far better about myself and others. There really is joy in giving. Time, effort, money, clothes, service..ANYTHING. I urge you to get out there and start giving. You may have nothing to gain but joy and happiness. Might be worth your time. eh?