I’ll admit, I’m quite the hurrier. I rush about doing things that HAVE to get done, so I can focus on the things I WANT to do. It’s the way I am wired, and I can’t help it. I always tend to get work done quick so I can focus on play. The same thing has been the case the last week or so in my spiritual walk. After everything I have been through, you would think I would be like a lit match on fire, and trying to do everything I can before the match inevitablity burns out. However, carnal life gets in the way. It’s hard to come down from the highs with God and the holy spirit and get back to real life as you knew it before. So I have decided I have spiritual A.D.D (attention deficit disorder). The next question is what do you do about it?

Since I just came to this revelation today in church, I must ponder it awhile. Seems I rush through my bible, cram as much inspirational messages in my ear I can, and pray incessantly all day long in 5 minute spurts now. What the heck happened? I know what needs to be done. I am still hungry for the words God speaks to me, yet its rush rush rush through all the miniscule tasks. I’m stuck in that revolving door and was frankly having a blast running and screaming. Ahhhhhhhhh!

5 minute verse, Check!
10 minutes of praise songs, Check!
15 prayers today, Check!
One Godly action, Check!

Errrrrrkkkk!

Someone had to put the brakes on my spiritual decline.Spiritual growth isn’t a check list! I have been too close to God to back that far away. So I contemplate my position in the next weeks ahead. How do you stop what is your carnal nature? Not quite sure yet.

Guess it’s time to just admit that I have spiritual A.D.D and work on a solution. There is no pill to take for this syndrome. You just work past it. It’s amazing I dont have alarms on my phone telling me when to eat, pray, and breathe.

It’s funny to me that in the process of simply writing this blog I am painting my toenails, cooking dinner and watching my weekly dose of television. Oh my gosh, I pray someone else has this problem! I suppose I must accept I am just a different breed, and I can “do anything you can do better”(and incompletely and half-brained) as I ponder this simple truth I giggle. So here’s to those that also fall into spiritual A.D.D. Know that it’s ok to recognize it, and hopefully with gods forgiveness, we can correct and adjust. Oh darn, there goes the oven!
Touché

Cherish