20120130-071315.jpg

Somedays I think I would get more done in my closet! (prayer closet that is). Sunday morning I woke up ready to go try out a new church in the area. I met the pastor and his wife and they both seemed like nice people so I thought I would stop in and see how their services are. I arrived a few minutes late so I sat in the back row (which I now stay away from in general), but it was accessible easily to me. There was a lot of song and dance going on – but today – Monday morning, I would still be waiting for the meat and potato sermon I was hoping for. I’m not one of those people that rely on entertainment at church. I can get entertainment readily at a coffee shop or movie theater. I wanted some teaching, preaching, word reading! When did that become “too much to ask for?”

Well, after I ducked out a little early from the “service” (even though it did a dis-service to everyone in attendance) I went home mad. I know I shouldn’t have, but I was furious at the lack thereof. So I went home and got in my closet. I knew I needed to clear the air. I didn’t know you could feel so far from God sitting in his house! So I apologized and asked for some one on one time. There is something magnificent about a heartfelt plea to want to spend time with your maker. God showed up and filled me with his holy spirit crouching on my knees beside my clothes hamper and a pile of shoes. Thank God I serve THAT God! The one who shows up to a sincere heart. The one who reaches those innermost needs. The one who doesn’t care if you are in a church, a grocery line, or a dirty clothes filled closet to meet with you. Amen!

Cherish