I have been working a blog post out in my mind for several weeks now. I got the title “success in a box” by my random thought processes that occur in a day. Basically the principles of the success in a box is what we wish we had. We wish that God would just plant us in business, an overflowing money-tree orchard, or a partnership that we could just reap the benefits of the success instantaniously. Yeah…. Wouldnt that be great?

I have been praying a lot about my vocation. I want to do something greater than what I feel like I am doing now. We all go through those times in our lives where we just feel like there is more out there. Well, I am in that place. I asked God if he would set me up for success. Set it up to where he would put all the supplies and talents I need in a box, and opening the box is the hardest thing I would have to endure. lol…yeah right. Ridiculous thoughts!

Then a funny thing came over me. Thinking of work and sucess, I began to ponder qualifications for this new position I was asking God to put me in. How would I apply? What about a spiritual resume? Am I qualified for the gifts I am asking God for? hmmm….not sure yet. I want to work with God, but would I just work for grace? Un-ending un-failing grace sounds good –BUT.

Hmm….. What are the qualifications I possess? What level am I on in Gods eyes? My heart? My spirit? I have been told once or twice that I “looked good on paper” in interviews. I wonder what I look like to God. If I were in line next to – lets say Mother Teresa – how far away from landing that gig am I?

R-E-A-L-L-Y FAR! REALLY, REALLY, REALLY FAR!

I wish I could turn in my spiritual resume and have it red-inked by God himself. Blot over my mistakes. Make the necessary improvements. What else do I need to learn to be amazing at Gods works? All these things I just sit and think about. What would your spiritual resume look like? I think mine would appear like this:

I’ll leave you with that.

Galatians 5:22-23 ESV

But the fruit of the Spirit is love, joy, peace, patience, kindness, goodness, faithfulness, gentleness, self-control; against such things there is no law.

Cherish