Mothers and Fathers always seem to love you anyway. I was pondering this fact – just go with me here for a second.

Parents…They have this maternal love formed into them. They love their children unconditionally. It’s a differerent kind of love. You cant find it in friendships, lovers, or strangers. How many times have we made mistakes and they (parents) say:

it will be alright” or “it’s ok just don’t do it again”

It is that hand of correction and love that mothers and fathers have in your life. Even when mom’s and Dad’s have to scold you for something, isn’t it funny how they say:

“I’m only doing this because i love you”

I heard that so many times as a kid and never got it. I often thought to myself (If you love me so much why are you beating me?)lol. As I’m older now I get it a little better. They wanted me to grow up with instruction and correction. They wanted me to know right from wrong. That is part of parenting. You want to guide and direct your children to be good citizens, people, husbands, mothers, fathers, wives. You alone are preparing a life for the world ahead of them.

God is that hand of correction, instruction and unconditonal love. God loves us anyway. There are times when I’ve been beat down by the hand of God. I can just hear him in the background saying “I’m doing this because I love you”. I can hear him saying “I gave you this trial because I love you. I want you to grow and learn.” God’s lessons are deeper lessons. His lessons are not as simple as putting your hand to close to the oven and momma slapping your hand away. These are the hard lessons. God does want us to succeed. From someone that doesn’t have children, I never really thought about it before. However, as experiences happen and you open your mind up and think – hey, maybe… You start to see things at a different angle.

You cant ever prepare for motherhood or fatherhood. There is no real manuals. Sure there are books, but for the most part – what you need to know, is what is already in you. How you were raised, the values you own already, the childhood you were given spills into your childs life. Good, bad, or indifferent. I guess I’m trying to say don’t fear the hand of correction from God. You know, when things are not going your way, maybe its because you are going the wrong way and God is about to redirect you. maybe he is sending a test your way because he loves you. Just ponder it.

My command is this: Love each other as I have loved you. Greater love has no one than this, that he lay down his life for his friends. – John 15:12-13

Amen.