When you have the power to make things happen – and often times do – it’s hard to step back and let God handle things. I would not consider myself 100% type A, however, I have had my moments. A little incident happened with me recently and I knew it was God trying to tell me something. (But I had already mapped it out, made plans, and there was nothing for God to do because I had it all accomplished!) OR SO I THOUGHT……

So my sister called me and said that they were planning a great anniversary party for my parents back home. They were inviting tons of friends and family to share in the celebration of 30 years together. (Gosh that seems like a long time.) So I was super excited and couldn’t wait to book my plane tickets out. I didn’t ask any questions, I just started researching flights and all but had my bags packed. I started squirrel-holing money away for the trip, got approval from work and that was that.. AND THEN……

Ever notice how you can’t get away with anything that God doesn’t approve of? I didn’t ask him about the trip. I was going. So what happened to me? Well, I got into a little fender-bender accident that took all that squirrel-holed money to fix my car. (Granted, I am not blaming God for the car accident only noting how circumstances bring you back to God.) So the next day I was fretting again. Thinking to myself, how am I going to fix my car AND take that trip back home? The answer simply put, was I wasn’t going to. I stopped and prayed about the trip home, and God sent down some incredible warning sirens. I was astonished. I wasn’t supposed to go. EVEN THOUGH I WANTED TO WITH ALL MY HEART! God was protecting me from something. I could speculate all day long the rhyme and reason, but I don’t need to justify God. I just need to listen to him. So once again, God strapped me for cash and resources to protect me from myself… I guess I can hang up ever winning that lottery jackpot..

Wink.

 

Cherish