I adopted tithing. I figured it can’t hurt. I made good money, I made minuscule money, but I never offered more than a 20.00 bill to God on Sundays. There, I said it.

So this year after losing my job (for 2 days – mind you, the most stressful 2 days of my life) I vowed to tithe. Well the job I was blessed with was quite a bit less in salary than I was accustomed to. (this is where it starts hurting by the way). I’ve come to the realization that those preachers preaching about tithing on Sundays aren’t just out for a bigger deck or new church carpets – they are telling you what is required of you.

I can’t live without Gods blessings. I can’t get where I need to be without him putting a hand in (or a hand out) for me. Let me tell you friends, I’m now giving ’til it hurts. I’m not doing it scowling, or hastily writing a check with a poor attitude, I am giving God his portion. The word portion is mentioned in the bible 100 times. I think it was important to enough to God and to many others. Laz 3:24 the lord is my portion saith my soul… And

Luke 12:42 (KJV)

42 And the Lord said, Who then is that faithful and wise steward, whom his lord shall make ruler over his household, to give them their portion of meat in due season?

Luke 12:43 (KJV)

43 Blessed is that servant, whom his lord when he cometh shall find so doing.

This Sunday will be the 2nd check I have written for the kingdom, and I am praying that I will start receiving those blessings in my life for diligence and obedience.

Here is to giving til’ it hurts and making Gods kingdom more important than mine. Afterall, you can’t serve two masters.

Joshua 22:5 (KJV)

5 But take diligent heed to do the commandment and the law, which Moses the servant of the LORD charged you, to love the LORD your God, and to walk in all his ways, and to keep his commandments, and to cleave unto him, and to serve him with all your heart and with all your soul.

I will keep you posted.

Cherish

20120226-164448.jpg