The anointing of God is a very precious thing. When I first started listening to people talk about “the anointing of God” I was completely confused and I will be the first to admit it. anointing seemed (to someone who grew up bapticostal) somewhat like a Catholic ritual. It was only until I started digging deeper into Gods word that the understanding started opening up to me. Since this was a topic that was foreign to me, I thought I could enlighten others. The anointing of God is God’s blessing on your life. For instance, you want to go be a preacher and you are seeking knowledge, higher education,and are cutting your pathway directly to becoming a self-made preacher – awesome. However, the degree is great but the anointing is better. Let me explain…

Have you ever asked God for a certain skill set in your life? Let’s say there was a job opportunity that you wanted so bad, but you knew that you weren’t skilled in it? Well now let’s say that God wanted you to have that job.. Wouldn’t he arm you with everything you needed to get it? Of course he would! God is a God of gifts and blessings. He wants us to live blessed lives and have plenty.

Deuteronomy 12:7 There, in the presence of the LORD your God, you and your families shall eat and shall rejoice in everything you have put your hand to, because the LORD your God has blessed you.

Mind you, I am not targeting preachers here, however I have heard some preaching that made me question the anointing, and frankly their reasons for being behind that pulpit. We are all human, and we can all fall prey to human desires. Some preaching is self serving, some is self righteous, some are selfless and directed purely from true hearts and true teaching that have been revealed from God himself. On the opposite of the spectrum I want to explain something…

The anointing of God can – and has been used for the wrong motives. It can, and has brought trouble onto the persons mis-using Gods anointing and to those who heard the lies or saw one. God is very particular about who gets his anointing and he uses the humble more than the proud for good reason. We can all be a little self righteous…amen? That’s why God tests you before he gives you the anointing. He prepares your heart beforehand and will give you small “God tests” and waits for you to pass. once that happens you can step out and receive Gods anointing and blessings on your life. Gods promises never change. If you feel a certain call on your life, it’s probably not just your imagination. It could be God calling you.

God Bless,

Cherish